I’ve done really well emotionally, until now.

Sitting at the gate staring out at the vessel that will tear me away from this wonderful country, I finally have time to reflect on my past experiences.

The morning was very relaxing as we ate our bakery breads and skyped my mom. Some last-minute gifts and second-guessing my baggage weight made me depend on Takae to send me my own box. After a final cherry blossom viewing we piled in the car to the airport, happily singing our favorite Disney songs together.

I want to take this moment to say, God is good, and I’m an awesome packer.

Suitcase 1: max weight = 32kg. Mine was 31.9kg.

Suitcase 2: max weight = 23kg. Mine was 23kg.

Oh yeah.

I changed my yen into half dollars, half New Zealand currency. In the last few months I’ve possessed several kinds of currency and America needs to step up their game. Our money is so boring! I mean, the term “greenbacks” is kinda catchy but compared to the colorful money of the Kiwis, it has to go.

There were no “goodbyes” in our parting, only “see you later.” This helped keep my eyes dry, though Okaasan didn’t fare so well. I’m going to miss them so much. If it wasn’t for my Japanese family, I would have had a very different experience in Japan…not positive. There is no way to accurately describe their generosity and kindness, and no way I could ever repay them to the extent granted to me.

Like I said, I did well through the parting…

Until I got to the immigration desk. I handed over my residence card and was directed to sign a statement: I hereby resign my residential status and forfeit all connections associated with such residency.

My hands shook as I signed the form and I fought tears as the officer confirmed my denial of re-entry.

Sayonara, Japan.

I hope to return someday.

Thank you for weeping, sakura blossoms. 




Leave a Reply.