Going to America.

AKA: military base.

My cousin Marshall had a basketball tournament so we trekked up there for a day to support the team. I was already used to seeing white faces around me for the past few days, but now they were all speaking English! Many Europeans study English as a second or third language, but now surrounded by my homies I had to really be careful who and what I was talking about at any given moment. I’m so used to just blurting out anything in Japan because no one knows what I’m saying…or if they do, they won’t respond.

We had a grand time, yelling at the game though! A bus transported us to a nearby base and we picked apart the exchange and commissary. I bought some necessities to use in Japan. I was completely at home in the grocery store. Knowing what everything says, and how to use it/make it is such a wonderful thing! If you don’t appreciate living in your own country yet then you need to get out and try living somewhere foreign for a while. I guarantee you’ll return with a new outlook on life. If nothing else you’ll have more patience for yourself and others.

Basically the day was watching basketball, walking around the grocery store, and driving….lots of driving. It took 3 hours each way. I sat between my bro and Tim in the car, so Tim and I shared a pillow. It was more like a drool barrier for my part.

What does a girl living in Japan buy in an American grocery store?

Deodorant.

Toothpaste

Toothbrush

Face-wash

Cookie and cake mixes

Yogurt-covered raisins

Banana chips

Not that Japan doesn’t have these things, they just have different versions that I don't like to use.

In the case of deodorant, Japan only makes aerosols that are 100% NOT effective for non-Japanese people.

Japan selling cake mix: 7 dollars a box. 

You can see why these items are a high priority to grab on base. 

The days between Christmas and New Years are so fuzzy…but there was definitely dishwashing, photo editing, badminton, and Mad Gabbing going on. Probably some naps, too. 


Oh! My bro had a birthday! We celebrated by going out to eat at a German restaurant. 

Well, first we went to church. 
After church we asked a friend to hang around and snap some family photos of us. It didn't go very well as far as things to frame on the mantel...
(click to enlarge)
Picture
So we drove up this hill….around a few corners, still up the hill, through the trees, over the river and through the woods.

Out of the woods, onto the ledge.

Hugging the ledge, up to the crest.

Park the car on the ledge, walk into the restaurant/house/village. It’s all those things at once because it probably houses the largest population in a single area within 2 square miles. Cows don’t count. 

The restaurant/hotel/house/village sat diners just inside the large picture windows to view the luscious valley and distants snow-capped alps. 

For the first time since my arrival, the locals didn’t speak a word of English, nor was it offered in translation on the menu. With no pictures to point at, I picked one that was rendered to me as “authentic.” I got schnitzel with noodles cooked in a Jagger beer sauce. It was a very good but large portion. I sampled everyone else’s food as well to get a more diverse opinion of the local flavors. It reminded me of pot roast. 


Picture
Schnitzel with noodles. And mushrooms....lots of mushrooms. And lemon with yummy jelly stuff.
Picture
After the birthday bash we drove to the local rustic castle ruins to play around and take pictures.

Evening: packing for Alps adventures!!!





Leave a Reply.