The past few days I received numerous messages from all of you asking if my plans to fly to Japan were still in motion. Indeed, they are still intact.

However, the Wakakusa English Progam (WEP), in light of further meltdown of the Funehiki nuclear power plant and increased exposure risk, decided to evacuate all their American teachers from the country this weekend. This is a wise move, but will require a path down back roads that may or may not be passable considering damage from the earthquake still unknown. All major highways are closed.

What does this mean for me?

We like to think we have some control over our future--this proves otherwise.
Today I am supposed to pack up my house and move it up to Washington, but now I don't know where I should go or where I should stay.

My travel plans have not officially been cancelled, and will not be altered until that date arrives or there is a more definite time frame regarding safe living conditions in Funehiki. As you can imagine, this makes it difficult to leave. Radiation may continue to leak out of the reactors and pollute the country, or they might get it under control tomorrow and issue clearance in two weeks. The country could be closed to foreigners for two years. We simply do not know.

For now I will continue to pack since I need to vacate my house anyways, have lunch with my old college roommate, visit my friends, and pray for direction. 

What can you do to help???
The common response in a world crisis is to stay in front of the television and make compassionate remarks about the horrible situation. Instead, here are some tangible things to do:

1. Go to work. Appreciate the job you have, your family that was not lost in the tsunami, and the house that was not damaged in the earthquake.
2. Donate to a relief organization. Japan faces food, clean water, and gas shortages. Highways are closed. People are missing family members, living in gymnasiums, and some are still trapped.
3. Pray. Pray for Japan's government, for the eradication of radiation, for the survivors who have lost everything including family members, for world troops and relief organizations coordinating together, and ultimately for hope in Christ and their salvation. I can't imagine what life is like without hope.
4. Pray for me! Even though I am going to Washington, I will probably return to Oregon after Spring Break and try to continue interpreting. I will need a new place to stay during this time of limbo. Because it is indefinite, I will need to leave at short notice, yet be able to continue working as long as possible. 

Thank you for your concern and your support during this time. I am not afraid of my future because I know I serve a God who can command the wind and the waves, who can speak and make the sun stand still in the sky. He holds my life in His hands. 
Alejandra
3/15/2011 02:20:50 pm

I figured other people would ask you about your trip and if it was still in motion, so in an effort to save you from answering the same question for the umpteenth time, I decided to wait. I figured you would post an update about any changes.

Praying for you Friend!

Reply
Aunt Judy
3/16/2011 02:51:31 am

I like your spirit and spunk! I love you!

Reply



Leave a Reply.