"So, are you getting ready to leave yet?"

That's the number one question I've fielded for the past four months. FOUR months people! You'd think they're trying to get rid of me. I'm sure it's all part of a government conspiracy, and probably ties into that one time when I accidently...nevermind.

No, I'm not getting ready. I'm trying to live my life here in Oregon and even checked things off of a "bucket list" I compiled from Portland's finest sights (according to some friends). 

First up: Voodoo Doughnuts, downtown Portland. Holy mackeral! Remember the Krispy Kreme rage a few years back? They have NOTHING on these people. You want a fresh, soft, tall, sweet doughnut? Want variety with a little quirk? Voodoo is the place for you. I would pay $5 for a doughnut there, but they don't even charge that much! May I suggest the Portland creme, and visit their less-crowded Sandy Blvd. store on the East side of the river. 

Second: OMSI, Oregon Museum of Science and something else I don't remember. This was a must-see on my friends' recommendations. While I admit that strolling around with my music buddy was a blast, it was very similar to my familiar Seattle Science Center which I've visited many times. The highlights for me were making a paper airplane that flew effortlessly in the wind tunnel...then folding an origami crane that also flew effortlessly in the wind tunnel! (See video). Also my pianist friend attempted to play a piece by composer Maurice Ravel on an eight-note major scale hand-pump organ. It was fabulous.

Third: Helvetia Tavern, Helvetia, OR. What can I say? Awesome cheeseburgers and awesome friends! Make a reservation for large groups on a Sunday afternoon.

Fourth: Portland opera. I saw Pucchini's "Turandot" with a friend on opening night.  After a few acts of critical viewing, I watched the curtain fall with a gaping mouth. I believe my first comment was, "That chic is messed up and totally didn't deserve him." The music, on the other hand, was worth every penny! The plus: student rush tix are a mere $10 if you're willing to wait in line. The minus: Even though box 4 is completely empty they will still make you sit in the balcony. Bring your binoculars. 

Fifth: Portland International Film Festival: While this was not officially on my list, I'm glad I had the opportunity to attend a few short films representative of several countries. I heartily recommend this annual festival  (PIFF) to everyone with an open mind and willing to read subtitles.

Sixth: Portland Lindy Hop Exchange: Again, not initially on my bucket list but this annual three-day event draws Lindy/ECS/Blues dancers from all over Oregon and Washington! Live bands were the highlight for me. 

Seventh: Portland Japanese Gardens: Will happen in the next few days :)

Eighth: Portland Zoo: Unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to comfort all the poor confined beasts in their cages.
Sunshine Weihert
3/10/2011 01:14:40 pm

I always enjoy reading your work!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.