Picture
Well at least I got to sleep in until 10, but that didn’t reconcile the fact that I went to sleep at 3am writing blogs….and dealing with this website that deleted one of them :(

After breakfast I browsed my pictures from yesterday, fixed the website, and skyped with my family back in Washington. It was cool because my brother and grandpa were visiting my parents so both families got to talk to each other. I’m all about bridging the gap.

Speaking of bridging the gap, let’s talk about the food gap.

It doesn’t exist for me. I like to eat everything!!!

When otoosan bought some oats for me the other day I got inspired to make oatmeal raisin cookies. They’re not my favorite, but they’re good enough to eat of course. I suggested the idea and otoosan was quick to take a walk with us down to the local grocery store and pick up a few ingredients like raisins and walnuts.

We started by taking the butter from the fridge and putting it upstairs in an un-airconditioned room…it became “room temp” very quickly.

It turns out when Japanese people make sweets the measurements are very precise, wheras I was just following a basic recipie and guestimating measurements. I put in extra spice and nuts since they’re my favorite ingredients next to sugar.

I smelled ‘em before the timer went off and my inner cookie monster said “they’re done!”

So good, especially with rich Japanese milk in a glass. Mmmmm..

Would you believe they’ve never had cookies before?! A cookie in Japan is more like a biscut, hard and crunchy.

My favorite part of this whole day was sharing this excellent custom of cookie dunking with my Japanese family. It was great to see their faces as they tasted it and let out a chorus of “it’s so good!”

Cookies and milk are my new favorite way to bridge the gap. Let’s be friends, peace, love, happiness, kum ba ya, eat yummy cookies.

Of course there was reciprocation and okaasan made tempura for dinner. I helped a little by slicing carrots and deveining the shrimp. We finished the evening watching “Tangled,” the story of Rapunzel. I’m going to sleep happy, and sharing oatmeal for breakfast in the morning. 

Marissa
8/17/2011 06:32:50 am

I FREAKING LOVE THAT MOVIE!!!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.