Following suite of the past week's schedule, we got up this morning at our own paces. Of course okaasan cooked a yummy breakfast and we ate around 10am. I got dressed in a t-shirt and shorts, prepared for a day of walking in my tennis shoes. 

Takae caught me after breakfast: 
"Suz, maybe you should dress in something a little fashionable today."

Oh. 

I guess that means I have to go shave...

So, I changed my shorts and shirt for a little more fashionable style including my shiny new red belt. Swapping my sneakers for silver sandals, leather purse for backpack, and curly hair in a clip instead of pony tail, I put on a bit of make up and prepared for a trip into one of Tokyo's shopping districts. It's not the most fancy area to be sure, but there are definitely stylistic expectations. 

We transferred onto several trains, following the first part of our route from when we visited Disney Sea. The first stop after disembarkation was the Starbucks in the station. That was a no-brainer and I purchased my new favorite drink: soy macha frappachino (macha is green tea). 

Right next to the eki (station) we entered a park sporting a huge tori gate and visited by foreigners and locals aplenty. We walked down the wide path and took pictures on our way to the shrine. In shinto custom, one must wash their hands before entering the shrine for purification. I politely declined, seeing as the Bible is pretty clear about false teachings and being involved in such activities. I think it's easy to get caught up in the "cultural experience" of everything and think that it's not such a big deal to wash one's hands in the cool water. Shoot, just forget about the religious significance and wash your hands! They're probably dirty anyways! 
Although I know some people share this view, I'm not in favor of it. Today I broke a rule and didn't wash my hands. 
Inside the shrine grounds we walked up to a particular building where people were throwing coins into a...receptacle of sorts, bowing, clapping twice, and bowing again before leaving. I had been told this was a ritual to ask (who? or what?) for good fortune or a blessing or offer a prayer. I took a picture. Then a guard came up to me and told me that in this particular place there was no photography allowed. Whoops. I broke another rule.

We left the shrine after passing by a shop that sold charms for ailments and life decisions. You could also pay 500 yen to have a priest offer up your prayer the next day...as long as it fit into an appropriate category.

The next stop was "the street" that probably has a name...but all that really matters is that it was crowded. At least Japan is organized enough to keep people on either the right or left side depending on direction of travel. I told Takae that I didn't need to buy anything, especially clothes, but if she wanted to stop then I'd go in with her. I promised myself I'd only buy gifts for other people today. We stopped in several stores and I got sucked deeper into Japanese fashion. I ended up buying more than she did, thus breaking my own rule. 

This part of Tokyo happens to love crepes, and there's literally a shop on every corner that offers dozens of different flavors and combinations of toppings. I chose number 80, caramel, custard, cheescake, and vanilla ice-cream. 
Picture
Picture
Picture
Just as we finished our crepes it started to rain, a nice summer rainstorm complete with crashing thunder and lightning cleared the streets like a stink bomb. 
We left the casual atmosphere of the street life and made our way to a mall...a bit more classy (and air conditioned!). I was feeling a little artistic and staged a little photograph shot that happened to include a hat from the shop we were in...I got in trouble for that and was told not to take pictures. Just broke another rule. Freaking camera Nazis are everywhere...
Walking around we found more things to marvel at and things to buy. At least a few things were gifts...
At the end of our little shopping tour we saw a huge 2 story mosaic on a wall that Takae's dad actually helped assemble! Taking the train home we were picked up from the station by otoosan (are you surprised?! He's so thoughtful!) and we all made dinner together....gyoza! For those of you who know them as "potstickers" you should note that they're far better fresh when you make them at the dining room table. With all the rules I was breaking I figured it was time to earn a point. I toasted and konpai'ed with ojiichan and otoosan before dinner and we enjoyed our little sake custom. The boys had a little more than me, and by the middle of dinner Takae commented on the redness of otoosan's face. This made everyone look intently at otoosan who became a little embarrassed. I innocently commented, "I'm sure it's just because he's so close to the hot takoyaki burner." I was awarded a point for cleverness and saving face. Yesssss.
In the evening we watched a TV show about a family who went to Disney Sea...but they're experience was a lot different from ours, in fact I'm wondering if we went to the same place as them. 
After our evening family conversation and dessert (provided by otoosan of course) I taught an impromptu tai chi class...it was pretty hilarious. 
Tomorrow is sleep-in day and I'm pretty excited about that. 
I'm also excited to wear my new clothes :)



Leave a Reply.