So far I'm doing pretty well at following my schedule. Today's schedule said: nothing to do, sleep in. Okay...no problems here.

So at 10:30 I moseyed downstairs, took a shower, and ate breakfast. Today featured prosciutto ham between the scrambled eggs, soup, yogurt, granola, peaches, and green tea. 

Our empty schedule left ample time for improptu things:
1: I taught a salsa lesson in the kitchen to Yuko and okaasan. It was entertaining at the least.
2. We discussed language in Japanese. I armed myself with my laptop and rapid internet dictionary, Yuko chose a small electronic dictionary and a blank sheet of paper and pencil to draw pictures. It was quite successful.
3. I played the piano until lunch time as everyone did various household activities, cleaning, studying, etc. Lunch was at 4pm :-)
4. I learned how to make something new...not sure what it's called, but it's good. Make a simple vinegar/sugar/mirin/ sauce and mix with cooked rice. Stuff inside a pre-made tofu wrapper and enjoy!
5. I introduced my favorite (and only) Japanese drama to the household. We were captivated until Takae and I went out to deliver vegetables to her old high school friends who live in town. At least this time when we walked it didn't rain! 
6. We ate a most delicious dinner in the living room around the small square table so ojii-chan wouldn't miss a minute of HIS favorite Japanese drama...which is set in the Edo period but has cowboy music in the background. Weird.
Peppered salmon with onions and sauce, pumpkin soup, cucumbers, green beans, and rice were eaten with enthusiasm. 
We watched a bit of a Japanese game show, then made plans for tomorrow. This includes getting my hair cut (and permed???) and going out to dinner/dessert with one of Takae's friends. I think wearing my new clothes will suit the occasion. 

In effect, today was quite restful in contrast to the walking we endured yesterday...and it's always good to give my wallet a rest after being opened all the time. It gets tired sometimes....gotta think about those things you know...
Alejandra
8/8/2011 11:33:42 am

I am so enjoying your blogs!! And it sounds like you are having such a wonderful time and as expected making the most of it.
Reading your blogs just makes me miss you though, but I am so happy for you that I can't stay sad for long :)

Your breakfast sounds so yummy, what a buffet I say!! lol

Keep having a great time! I had a thought yesterday while catching up on your adventures....when you get back we wont have much to ask you because you are already telling us so much about your visit, so I am thinking we will just shower you with hugs and tell you how much we missed you :) sound good?

Reply
himynameisdavid
8/8/2011 07:20:15 pm

Hows the internet over there? I heard its way faster then anywhere else in the world. I tried watching a japanese game show once. It had no idea what was going on by I rofl'd a few times just outa the stuff they do and the weird captions and subtitles. They have a different sense of humor then our tv shows.

Reply
Karissa
9/19/2011 02:45:44 pm

That thing that was in the tofu wrapper with the rice is what we call Inarizushi....or something like that. They actually have it back here. I love it on a hot summer day.....not that we've had many of those this year LOL.

Reply



Leave a Reply.