I didn't know it was possible to sweat by just existing...but it is. All you have to do is stand in an un-airconditioned room and there's beads of sweat running down the back of your legs. As for me, the sticky moisture runs down my back and collects at the hem of my pants....which eventually soaks in a downward direction and leaves me looking like I peed my pants. Great.

The kitchen and dining room, being the most often used, are the chosen spaces for air-con use during the day so guess where I've been hanging out....yep. 
As soon as I woke up I grabbed my computer and headed downstairs. That's where I stayed for breakfast and lunch, working on a picture from Disneyland that I'm composing in Photoshop. Unfortunately I didn't bring my wireless mouse so I have to use the trackpad, but fortunately I have a Mac and it's so beautiful to use. No complaints here.
We had a bit of yakisoba in the late afternoon and after that I decided I should take a shower and get dressed for the evening...after all, it was 4pm. I even wore my new lace frock that I bought in Harajuku :)
Takae and I went to the train station to pick up her childhood friend. She was so sweet and very cute. Apparently she has a year pass for Disneyland and Disney Sea which she utilizes about two or three times a month. Wow. 
The three of us went to visit her neighbor, a kind lady who teaches an English club. She wanted to have us for tea and conversation but it turned into dinner and several hours of kind of serious topics. She asked me a lot about Christianity. One interesting topic brought up was the phrase, "Oh my G--." Even among my elementary students I hear that phrase being used without thought or effort. It's simply something they pick from the TV and movies and they have no idea what it means and most of the time don't even pronounce it correctly. I explained both the meaning, contextual uses, and the religious significance. Of course that opened the Pandora's box of swear words...you know, when people find out you know another language and the first thing they want to know is the swear words? The only reason I indulged in this conversation was because she already knew English. Her pronunciation was quite good and communicated well. I got the impression that she's not a swearing kind of woman and wouldn't be using them; it was purely educational knowledge and being able to identify those words that should be avoided. 

Happily ate our obentos and Takae took turns interpreting for her friend and for me. 

Then Takae volunteered me for the evenings entertainment. Single-handedly I rendered "Belle" or the "Bonjour Song" including all the secondary characters. I must say my Gaston impression is getting good. 
Then I was obliged to render the opening scene from Aladdin...of course!
Then I was beckoned to show some salsa dancing to the tune of "A Train." Weird, but doable. 

After dinner we said our goodbyes and came home to a hot house...guess where I went? The kitchen table....and I'm staying here until the last possible second when I have to go upstairs where its a million degrees...I'm turning on the air con tonight. 

Tomorrow's forecast: hotter than today....and a haircut!



Leave a Reply.