Alright, I think I’m going to try and do it again.

For the next 10 days I’ll attempt to blog each day…though let’s be honest, sometimes my adventures mandate the blog to be written the next day, if you know what I mean…



So I woke up today with a half-centimeter of snow on the ground. Walking to the Funehiki train station I rolled my red travel suitcase down the un-shoveled sidewalk leaving boot and wheel tracks in my wake.

Train ride: not worth sharing…I did enjoy seeing a picturesque winter scene out the window though.

Koriyama station was another lovely scene. I stood out on the shinkansen platform all alone, and watched the snow fall across the empty tracks. As we pulled out of the station I enjoyed looking at snow-laden trees and rooftops, but it didn’t last more than a half-hour before the snow suddenly disappeared and I felt magically transported into another world. This world was also 15 degrees warmer than where I came from…

Arriving at Tokyo station I came on the alert and used my navigational skills to find “the meeting place of the silver bells.” I knew it was in the basement, so I just took as many escalators and flights of stairs down as I could until I reached the bottom. Upon reaching a fork in the road, I took the path less traveled (which isn’t saying much because the station was FULL of holiday travelers…as if it wasn’t busy enough already).

I quickly arrived at the silver bells and found my party of two: mom (okaasan) and Yuko.

Let the Japanese begin!

It took some stuttering and mind blanks to get the first words out, but from then on my mind switched language modes and I was good to go. Not sure where I was going, but at least I was trying, right?!

They were impressed with my ability to quickly find the meeting place, assuming I would have to ask for directions, get lost a few times, and arrive in 20 minutes. In fact I met them 5 minutes after departing the train. I’m a champ. Then again, I know the station quite well now, since last time I searched the entire place looking for Takae only to find her right outside the turnstile where I first exited. Second time’s the charm.

“Susie, how are you feeling? Are you tired?”

Nope. Let’s do something!

We tried to make plans to tour the imperial palace, a popular site around the new year and directly across from the station in central Tokyo. Unfortunately, Yuko called and was told that we had to make reservations 1 week in advance!

So we ate lunch. In a nearby skyscraper there were 2 floors dedicated to restaurants, all marketing lunch specials. We decided upon Italian after touring both floors and finally playing janken (rock, paper, scissors) to let fate decide our meal.

A fluffy green salad, pizza, and piece of cake later I was a happy girl. With suitcase and bag of Christmas presents in tow we made our way further downtown to check out Tokyo Tower. To reach the top we had to wait an hour to ride the elevator. Since Japan is so awesome and prepared, I was able to stick all my luggage in a locker on the main floor, hands free for the remainder of the adventure.

I suggested we walk up the stairs, and was shot down.

After 5 minutes we were bored of waiting so we decided to see how far we got. 

Picture
Me and Yuko passing the urban park.
Picture
Tokyo Tower
It was quite a beautiful climb, watching the sun creep lower and lower as we went higher and higher into the tower. The stairs were all numbered, just in case that encourages you. At each landing there was an informational sign telling you how many calories you burned, and what your current height was, comparatively. For example, “You are now at the height of the Tower of Pisa.” “You are now at the height of the tallest pyramid in Egypt.” After we reached the half-way point we opted to go inside and take the elevator the rest of the way up. We landed at the top as the sun was setting behind the distant mountains, casing a vivid orange and pink glow on the skyscraper windows, scattered clouds, and regal mountains. I took plenty of pictures, fighting against the glare and smudges on the windows.  The most intriguing picture set the illuminated cityscape against a dusky Mt. Fuji, and in the dark blue sky sat the most delicate crescent moon to grace the night. 

We returned by subway and train to Tsurukawa, our station nearest to home. Dad (otoosan) was already there and had made dinner for us. Veggie soup, miso soup, and roast beef over fresh greens? Yes please! I also tried something new…not sure what it was though. They warned me that I might not like the flavor because it’s a “strong Japanese flavor” but I thought it was fine! After dinner I volunteered to accompany otoosan to the store to buy some milk. Yuko came with us. I suggested walking, even though the air had become considerably colder since the sun disappeared.

It was so cold that we ran/skipped down the street to the store…it was pretty epic and I’m sure the people passing us in their cars laughed when they saw three adults skipping down the lane in the dark. Upon returning we did a little Christmas gift exchange and I passed out the Christmas cookies I’d saved. Yum.

I received some education on running winter appliances, such as bathroom heaters, floor heaters, carpet heaters, electric space heaters, gas heaters, and foot heaters. Yes, they’re all different.

Not sure what we’re doing tomorrow…or the rest of break for that matter so I guess we’ll see!




Leave a Reply.