Gaaaaahhh! It’s too early for this. I’m getting old.

It’s 5:45 am and I set my alarm late last night…not that I slept very well. In fact, I tried to put myself to sleep by attempting to sing the alphabet backwards. This is a feat that I attempted several times but lost interest and never truly accomplished. I can now sing it with considerable ease, thanks to the hour I devoted to it while trying to get to sleep.

Yes, today is Disneyland day.

I was disappointed to find out that Otoosan was not joining us, as he had been super busy with New Year’s things the past several days and never really got to rest during his precious vacation time. But, being the generous and kind person he is, he got up early just to drive me, Takae, Yuko, and Okaasan across the Rainbow Bridge spanning the Tokyo Bay and to the doorstep of Disneyland where dreams apparently come true.

They better not have a backwards alphabet ride here or I’m gonna be freaked out.

The first matter of the day: Starbucks. Now that I’m toting a tall soy chai latte I’m ready for anything, already forgetting the early hour I awoke.

Takae had bought tickets at a place in town the day before so all we have to do is stand in the turnstile line. Ha. It’s taking forever. There were mobs of people. I figured as much, considering the New Year holiday and that Japanese people absolutely love Disneyland. Any special event that Disneyland advertises, you have to go check it out.

What? Special Christmas lights in December? Guess we have to go! (Even though we saw it last year).

What? Mickey and Minnie are dressing in Kimonos for New Years? Gotta see that. Again.

Say that again?! They have ~th anniversary popcorn buckets this Spring? We’re going. Again.

Yep, it’s pretty much like that.

So we finally get into the park and *cue music * magically I become transformed into a little kid. 

Picture
Takae asks me what I want to do. Without hesitation I say “Space Mountain and Pirates of the Caribbean.” She grabs all of our tickets and runs off to get a “fast pass,” leaving us in the entry garden of the theme park. Yuko and I took this opportunity for some cleverly staged photos of me and Walt Disney.

We meet up with Takae at the entrance to Pirates and I explain my desire to ride it.

“When I was five,” I reminisced, “I went on this ride with my brother and aunt and uncle. I got totally freaked out by the waterfall and the guy sitting on a wall with a pistol. I’m determined to overcome that horrible memory.”

We’re riding in the boat (the back this time, not the front) and it’s not scary. In fact it is quite entertaining watching the fireflies zoom about, and notice the similarities between the ride and my favorite movie.

We pass the old man sitting on a rocking chair.

We pass pirates looting a village.

We pass Captain Barbosa looking for Jack Sparrow.

Wait? Jack Sparrow? I don’t remember that part….Johnny Depp wasn’t in the last version of this ride…

We approach the guy shooting his pistol. I’ve been preparing my revenge my whole life.

I take out my imaginary pistol, folding my fingers into a gun and fire right back at him taunting with my best pirate face.

From the left! From the right! Yaarrrrr!!!!

Got him through the cheekbone.

I feel much better.

I enter the pirates store after exiting the ride and find the pirate hat with Mickey ears suits me well. I eventually buy it in honor of myself overcoming something stupid. 


Picture
We take our fast passes and stand in the much shorter 20 minute line for our admission. We sit in the front!!!

It’s pretty amazing, whipping around the stars without a clue as to which way we’re headed. I loved the breeze blowing past my face in a “kimochiiiiiiii!!!!” moment.

Now that my two goals are accomplished I’m ready for anything. That “anything” includes 3 buckets of different flavored popcorn: honey, curry, and chocolate. Spread throughout the day, of course. We eat lunch in the second most creepy place: kingdom of hearts. Or is it the Queen of Hearts’ kingdom? I really don’t know, but that whole Alice thing is whacked out.

Let’s take some fun pictures with the guards so I feel better about it. Okay. 


Picture
I’m going to choose a chicken salad and cream of corn soup for lunch today…it’s just cold enough to warrant soup. Mmmm….delicious. Takae is asleep after eating so we wait for her.

We see a few interesting shows, one with dancers (with REAL foreigners!) and another featuring 3D Donald Duck trying to conduct the orchestra. Pretty entertaining.

We go to the Christmas Haunted House, basically A Nightmare Before Christmas in ride form.

Takae asks if I want to go on Star Tours. DUH!!! That’s one of the few good memories I have of Disneyland. I love this ride. I enjoy it once again. 


Picture
Do I want to go on It’s a Small World? No, not really. But we go anyways since Takae is enamored with the artist who conceived the original idea and color scheme. I decided to take a video, inserting satirical remarks the whole way. It made the ride a little more interesting and a little less creepy, but it’s still at the top of the creepy list for me.

We sit in a prime spot, in the outside café section overlooking the river and view of Cinderella’s night-lite castle as Mickey’s illuminated parade goes marching musically by.

Then I saw him.

Holding my shoe.

Waiting….no, searching for me, his lost love.

I call out to him. “Prince Charming! It’s me! I’m over here!”

I wave my arms in the air, standing up above the railing.

He sees me. He waves back encouragingly.

My heart races and I know that we will be forever united in perfect happiness ever after.

Then he looks the other way and leaves, not even bothering to give me my shoe back. How rude.

I guess dreams really DON’T come true here.

False advertising.

We watch the fireworks grace the blue roofs of the castle and decide on one final attraction before Dad comes to pick us up. (Isn’t he so nice?!)


Picture
Do I like Michael Jackson? No, not particularly.

But, Okaasan is particularly interested so we go inside the theater building and pick up a pair of 3D glasses once again. Actually, there is a neat documentary on how they made the movie playing in the lobby that we watch to pass the time.

We sit down. I’m surprised but pleased to listen to the movie in English!!! Wow. What a treat.

As soon as I hear his voice I crack up. I’m the only one laughing.

I try to contain myself but then he starts quoting Star Wars lines and I just can’t help myself, practically crying over the hilarity of “Captain EO.” He’s now officially on my list of singers who shouldn’t be actors. I just can’t take him seriously.

It’s late. We leave. We all sleep in the car on the way home. 





Leave a Reply.